2010 Future Scientist wins more accolades

Bailey Lovett, the 2010 Prime Minister’s Future Scientist recipient, has gone on to great success in other awards since winning the prize.

Bailey’s winning project investigated the water quality in the Riverton/Aparima area (west of Invercargill). Her research tracked faecal contamination levels in mussels and cockles to gauge water quality after periods of high rainfall or flooding. Her results showed that levels of contamination were higher and lasted for longer than previously thought and have resulted in Environment Southland extending the length of time people are advised to wait before collecting shellfish after heavy rain.

This project won the NZAS Southland Science and Technology Fair and was nominated for the Royal Society Event ‘Realise the Dream 2010’ which it also won. The winner of this award is also awarded the 2010 Prime Minister’s Future Science Prize, and from this event, Bailey and her project were selected to go to the 2011 European Young Scientists Competition, held in Finland. At the European Event, Bailey’s project won the International Award, which is presented to the best non-European project, of which there were about 20 from across the planet. Bailey did a tremendous amount of work to complete her project over a 6 month project and her results made a significant difference to the community her work was based in.

Due to this success Bailey Lovett has now been announced as one of three finalists in the Young New Zealander of the Year awards for 2012. The winner will be announced on the 16th February, to see the list of finalists please click here.

Latest News

2014 Opening Round

The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes will open on Monday 5th May and will close on Monday 4 August 2014.

Honorary Doctorate for 2012 Prime Minister’s Science Prize Winner

Distinguished Professor Paul Moughan FRSNZ has been internationally honoured for his contribution to science, which is helping malnourished children in the developing world.  Read more…

2013 Prime Minister’s Science Prize winners announced

The 2013 Prime Minister’s Science Prize winners were announced in Wellington today by the Prime Minister at an awards ceremony at the Royal Society of New Zealand, Te Whare Apārangi

Read more…