The Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize

This Prize will be given to a practising scientist who is an effective communicator and will provide them with an opportunity to further develop their knowledge and capability in science media communication.

Effective communication of science is becoming increasingly important given the influence of science and technology on New Zealanders’  lives. It is also important given the specialisation of science which can isolate scientists and their ideas.


The Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize is worth $100,000 to the recipient.

$50,000 of the Prize is to be used to support the recipient to carry out a programme of activities to further their understanding of media communication.

$50,000 of the Prize money is available to the recipient with no expectations on its use.

The recipient of the Prize would be expected to be involved in promotional opportunities appropriate to receiving The Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize.

Entries opened Monday 5th May and closed on Monday 4th August.


See the recipient of the 2014 Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize


Latest News

Previous PM Science Prize winner asked to join panel of experts

A former recipient of the Prime Minister’s Science Prize, Distinguished Professor Paul Moughan from Massey University, will join a panel of international experts charged with finding ways to address the global problem of chronic malnourishment.
Read more…

New Zealand’s StretchSense joins global elite of wearable technology firms

Auckland, New Zealand, Jan 22, 2015 – An Auckland based firm, set up by a previous Prime Minister’s Science Prize winner, has hit the jackpot with its selection by an international jury as one of the most innovative wearable technology companies in the world.

StretchSense CEO Dr Ben O’Brien (right) and CTO Dr Todd Gisby (left)

Read more…

PMs Science Prize winner receives New Year Honour

Congratulations to Distinguished Professor Emeritus John Boys, a previous joint winner of the Prime Minister’s Science Prize, who was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to science in the New Year Honours list for 2015.  Read more…