The Government of New Zealand introduced The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes in 2009 as a way of raising the profile and prestige of science among New Zealanders.

There are five prizes in total with a combined value of 1 million dollars.

The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes will close on 5pm on 9 October 2020.

The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes are awarded to:

The Prime Minister’s Science Prize

An individual or team for a transformative  scientific discovery or achievement , which has had a significant economic, health, social and/or environmental impact on New Zealand or internationally.

The Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize

An outstanding emerging scientist who has had their PhD or equivalent qualification conferred within the last eight years (i.e. from 1 January 2011 onwards)

The Prime Minister’s Science Teacher Prize

A registered teacher who has been teaching science, mathematics, technology, pūtaiao, hangarau or pāngarau  learning areas of the New Zealand curriculum to school-age children in a primary, intermediate or secondary New Zealand registered school)

The Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize

A secondary school student for outstanding achievement in carrying out a practical and innovative science research, maths, technology or engineering project.

The Prime Minister’s Science Communication Prize

A practising scientist who can demonstrate an interest, passion and aptitude for science communication and public engagement, or to a person who has developed expertise in public engagement with, or communication of complex scientific or technological information to the public or science community.