Our stories

Prime Minister’s Prize Winners announced on 21 March

Yesterday the five recipients of the prestigious Prime Minister’s Science Prizes were announced at an award ceremony held at Parliament, attended by Prime Minister Bill English and Science and Innovation Minister Paul Goldsmith, together with two hundred guests. The Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize was awarded to Former Onslow College pupil Catherine Pot. Read … Read More

Science a dinner table conversation

Dr Michelle Dickinson’s heart breaks when the word science conjures up negative experiences of text books and difficult exams. The University of Auckland biomedical and materials engineer, who set up and runs Australasia’s only nanomechanical testing laboratory, won the Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize in 2014. “Science affects … Read More

Rewarding scientific research

Winning the Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize has led to numerous opportunities to share his research and establish research collaborations says Dr Karl Iremonger. The 2014 University of Otago prize recipient says his research into brain cell functionality has been widely publicised as a result of his … Read More

  • 1
  • 2